The Wonders of WonderCon 2011!

San Francisco gets over 16 million people a year visiting for the primary purpose of attending a convention. Make no mistake – the Wondercon folks are my favorite! Less glitzy and feature-film oriented than ComicCon down in San Diego, WonderCon is a little more focused on independent graphic novelists and artists – Neil Gaiman is a frequent panelist. Although this year Ryan Reynolds upped the hunkiness factor by a hundred by making an appearance to promote the new Green Lantern movie, so maybe we’re heading for ComicCon-like critical mass soon.

He can rescue me from dark forces anytime!

My friend Wendy, owner of an awesome graphic arts company called I Heart Guts, was an exhibitor at WonderCon this year, so I got a backstage pass to the passionate wackiness that is the hallmark of any convention of this kind. I love the way every variety and genre of fandom has a place here. The classic Star Wars-themed costumes (Slutty Princess Leia is always popular!) blend seamlessly with Steampunks, Harajuku Girls, and homemade PacMans (PacMen?).

Here are some of my favorite photos from this year’s show:

Old School Battlestar Galactica!

I saw at least two dozen people who had invested in this particular costume

The hand made costumes were my favorite

Don't know who these kids are supposed to be, but they worked their butts off on the costumes!

HJ Girls were all over the place!

This little boy was fascinated/totally freaked out by R2

All in all, I had a great time. I spent a ridiculously self-indulgent amount of time discussing my own embarassing-ly detailed knowledge of Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Freakangels with like-minded geeks, and seriously considered putting a costume together for next year. Yikes! Someone talk me down off the ledge!

One thought on “The Wonders of WonderCon 2011!

Leave a Reply

